Copa Chile 2011: Quarter final fixtures, 2nd leg results

Only four teams remain in the race for the 2011 Copa Chile title after the second legs of the quarter finals were played on the weekend with Primera Division sides Universidad de Concepción, Universidad Católica and La Serena being joined by Primera B side Magallanes.

La Serena ensured that there would be a new holder of the Copa Chile for this year after they defeated defending champions, Iquique 1-0 to take their tie 3-1. A Dwight Pezzarossi goal on 49 minutes was the difference between the two teams in the first match of the weekend.

In the second match of the weekend, Audax Italiano and Universidad Católica played out a thrilling encounter as two goals from Audax’s Cristián Canuhé in the final five minutes ensured that the match would go to penalties after the match finished 3-1 and 3-all on aggregate. However the home side weren’t able to carry the momentum into the penalty shootout with los cruzados prevailing 4-2.

In the third match quarter-final, Universidad de Concepción emphatically crushed Huachipato 5-2 in the Estadio CAP to take the tie 7-3 on aggregate. The visitors had five individually goal scorers in the form of Mario Aravena, Claudio Guerra, Miguel Hernández, Renato Ramos and Richard Pellejero whilst for the home side Gabriel Sandoval and Jesús Vera got on the scoresheet.

The final semi-final place was taken by the only Primera B side remaining in the competition, Magallanes after they defeated Santiago Morning 3-0 in the second leg of their quarter final clash to take the tie 3-1 on aggregate. For Magallanes, whose form in the Copa Chile has belied their poor table position in Primera B, scored all the goals in the final ten minutes with Claudio Latorre picking up brace.

In the semi-finals, Magallanes will take on La Serena and Universidad Católica will clash with Universidad de Concepción with the dates yet to be finalised.

Copa Chile 2011: quarter finals, second leg

S. Morning 0-3 Magallenes (C. Latorre (MA) 80′ & 87′, M. Nuñez (MA) 90′ +2) (Magallanes advance 3-1 on aggregate)
Huachipato 2-5 U. Concepción (M. Aravena (UCo) 21’, C. Guerra (UCo) 29’, M. Hernández (UCo) 45’, G. Sandoval (HU) 59’, R. Ramos (UCo) 70’, J. Vera (HU) 76’, R. Pellejero (UCo) 85’) (U. Concepcion advance 7-3 on agg.)
A. Italiano 3-1 U. Católica (F. Benítez (AI) 31′, K. Harbottle (UC) 59′, C. Canuhé (AI) 86′ & 91′) (Tie level 4-4 on agg. U. Católica advance 4-2 on penalties)
Iquique 0-1 La Serena (D. Pezzarossi (LS) 49’) (La Serena advance 3-1 on agg.)
Photo taken from
This entry was posted in Copa Chile and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s