Universidad Católica win 2011 Copa Chile

Universidad Católica are the 2011 Copa Chile champions after defeating Magallanes in a penalty shootout in the Estadio Santa Laura. The win sees los cruzados qualify automatically for next year’s Copa Sudamericana whilst Magallanes will now have to focus on staying in the Primera B.

As the clock wound down it looked like Magallanes would spring an unlikely victory but Daúd Gazale sprung up in the 88th minute to break the deadlock and break the hearts of many Magallanes fans. The Primera B side had been valiant despite the fact that had been playing with ten men since the 50th minute after Juan Cornejo saw red for a challenge on Milovan Mirosevic. With such a late goal the advantage in the resulting penalty shootout was always going to go the way of Católica and despite the aforementioned Mirosevic having his first penalty saved went onto win the shootout 4-2 after Magallanes’ Paulo Cárdenas and Rodrigo Aguilera both skied their penalties over the crossbar.

Magallanes 0-1 Universidad Católica (U. Católica win 4-2 on penalties)

Photo taken from terra.cl
This entry was posted in Copa Chile and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s