Campeonato de Apertura 2012: Quarter final fixtures

With the regular season now out of the way it is now time for the hustle and bustle of the playoffs to decide who will the 2012 Apertura champions.

Colo Colo and Iquique kick off proceedings with los albos hosting the northerners, who were one of the surprise packets of the season, at the Estadio Monumental at the rather strange time of 3:30pm on a Wednesday afternoon. The return leg will be played on Saturday afternoon in the Estadio Tierra de Campeones.

The next fixture is between two teams that must be sick of playing each other having already met three times this season, Unión Española and Universidad Católica. Los cruzados will fairly confident of progressing having not lost to their rivals in their aforementioned three encounters whilst their opponents will be looking to arrest a run of two consecutive playoffs where they have gone out in the first round. The first leg takes place on Wednesday night in the Estadio Santa Laura before they make their way to the Estadio San Carlos for the return leg on Saturday night.

Last Apertura season, Unión La Calera caused somewhat of an upset as they defeated Unión Española, who had finished that season in second position and they will be looking to repeat that feat when they take on O’Higgins in the week’s third quarter final fixture. The first leg takes place on Thursday with the second leg being played on Sunday night.

The final quarter final fixture is a repeat of the 2011 Clausura final as Cobreloa take on Universidad de Chile in one of the most drawn out playoff fixtures taking place. Los mineros, who stormed into the playoffs after a poor start and the sacking of Nelson Acosta, will play the first leg on Sunday afternoon in the Estadio Municipal before waiting over two weeks to play the second leg in the Estadio Nacional. This delay is due to Universidad de Chile’s continued run in the Copa Libertadores and the World Cup Qualifiers scheduled for the weekend after.

Primera Division Campeonato de Apertura 2012, quarter finals, first leg

Colo Colo vs. Iquique  (Wed 15:30, Monumental)
U. Española vs. U. Católica  (Wed 20:30, Santa Laura)
U. La Calera vs. O’Higgins (Thur 19:00, Nicolás Chahuán)
Cobreloa vs. U. de Chile (Sun 16:00, Municipal)

Primera Division Campeonato de Apertura 2012, quarter finals, second leg

Iquique vs. Colo Colo (Sat 16:00, Tierra de Campeones)
U. Católica vs.U. Española(Sat 18:30, San Carlos)
O’Higgins vs. U. La Calera (Sun 18:30, El Teniente)
U. de Chile vs. Cobreloa (Mon 11/6 20:00, Nacional)
This entry was posted in Primera Division and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s