¡La U es tricampeon!

Universidad de Chile secured their third successive domestic title in a dramatic finale that had plenty of controversy as well as some poorly taken penalties.

Going into the match with a goal advantage it was O’Higgins who looked the better in the opening minutes as they reduced their opponents to crosses and shots from distance. Their pressure paid off in the 29th minute when Marcelo Diáz, whose error was responsible for O’Higgins’ opener in the first leg, was judged to handled a Rodrigo Rojas header within the area and a penalty to the visitors was awarded. Ramón Fernández duly stepped up and converted from the penalty spot. The goal spurred O’Higgins on and they could quite have had a second just before the break as Jhonny Herrera denied Boris Sagredo in a one on one situation. Fortunately for La U the score remained 1-0 at the break.

Not long after the break both teams were reduced to ten men as both José Rojas and Julio Barroso were given their marching orders for an incident in the O’Higgins penalty area. With the lure of their first ever tricampeonato La U went on the offence and were controversial back on level terms after sixty-six minutes after referee Enrique Osses adjudged that Guillermo Marino had been brought down by Alejandro López inside the area as replays suggested otherwise. Charles Aránguiz then converted from the penalty spot. As the clock ticked down it looked like O’Higgins would be getting their hands of the Primera Division title for the first ever time before the aforementioned Marino popped up in the 92nd minute to send the match to penalties. The last minute goal sucked the confidence out of O’Higgins and in the resultant penalty shootout could not find a way past Jhonny Herrera and went down 2-0 in the shootout to give Universidad de Chile their first ever tricampeonato.

Photo taken from terra.cl
This entry was posted in Primera Division and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s