¡Huachipato es campeón!


Huachipato claimed their second ever Primera Division title after defeating Unión Española in a dramatic penalty shoot out after their the second leg finished 3-1. With only minutes left on the clock Unión Española fans thought their team was about to pick up its seventh title before Manuel Villalobos popped up in the 89th minute to send the game to a penalty shoot out.

Both teams started the game nervously as they struggled to string any number of passes together. Huachipato had the first chance to open the scoring with Braian Rodriguez hitting the crossbar after four minutes.

For la furia roja, who went into the second leg with a 3-1 advantage, only Mauro Díaz and Emilio Hernández created chances but they caused no problems for Huachipato goalkeeper Nery Veloso. This all changed on the half hour mark when Dagoberto Currimilla, a former Huachipato player, opened the scoring as he fired home past Veloso.

It didn’t take long for Huachipato to hit back courtesy of a Daniel González free kick seven minutes later before the midfielder put los aceroros ahead two minutes before half time to set up an enthralling second half.

The second half proved to be one of few chances as the quality of play left a lot to be desired and although Huachipato pushed for a decisive goal they rarely challenged the goal of Eduardo Lobos. Just as the match appeared to be heading to its conclusion and Unión Española looked to be crowned champions Manuel Villalobos popped up in the 89th minute to level the tie at 4-all and to send the game to penalties.

The penalty shoot out proved to be a nerve wracking affair with Sebastián Jaime, Mauro Díaz, Eduardo Lobos and Braulio Leal all missing from the spot for Unión Española whilst for Huachipato, goalscorers Manuel Villalobos and Daniel González along with Miguel Aceval. Both teams had chances to win the match before Omar Merlo converted to win the penalty shoot out 3-2.

The title was Huachipato second ever and their first since 1974 and means that they will participate in next year’s Copa Libertadores.

Huachipato 3-1 Unión Española

Huachipato 3-2 Unión Española (the penalty shootout)

Photo taken from elgrafico.cl
This entry was posted in Primera Division and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ¡Huachipato es campeón!

  1. Camilo says:

    One of the best finals i’ve seen. Atleast the referee was unbiased, not like Apertura 2011 & Apertura 2012 Finals.

  2. Pingback: O’Higgins claim Supercopa crown | The Lone Star

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s